1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

The Anatomy of the Brain


8 of 9

The Limbic System
The Anatomy of the Brain

The amygdala is one of the major structures found in the limbic system.

Image by Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, and Technology(MEXT) Integrated Database Project

The limbic system is comprised of four main structures: the amygdala, the hippocampus, regions of the limbic cortex and the septal area. These structures form connections between the limbic system and the hypothalamus, thalamus and cerebral cortex. The hippocampus is important in memory and learning, while the limbic system itself is central in the control of emotional responses.

Next: Basal Ganglia

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.