1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

What Is the Phallic Stage?



The phallic stage is the third stage of Freud’s stages of psychosexual development, lasting from age three years to six years. According to Freud, the genitals are the primary erogenous zone and pleasure is derived from genital stimulation. The primary conflict at this stage is a desire to possess the opposite-sex parent. Completion of this stage results in identifying with the same-sex parent.

Learn more about the phallic stage of psychosexual development.

p>More Psychology Definitions: The Psychology Dictionary

Browse the Psychology Dictionary

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.